Summer Holidays : Weeks 1, 2, & 3.

flowers-250854_1280Picture credit: Pixabay

Well, I can’t believe I’m sitting here writing about the Summer holidays already! It seems like only yesterday that I started this blog by writing about the Easter holidays.

What have we been getting up to so far?! Quite a lot actually and I’m pleased to say I have been enjoying spending more time with my girls.

I chose to split the six week holidays with Jamie being on holiday for week 3 and week 5. It’s fair to say I was apprehensive about how I would cope with the girls for the first two weeks but my planning and preparation has paid dividends and I’m so pleased.

We started week 1 by making some posters about our favourite animals. This actually entertained us for three days. Inara did a poster on Macaw parrots – she loves their brightly coloured feathers. Edai chose to do hers on dogs and I didn’t want to be left out of the creative process and did mine on donkeys – they’re so cute! Here’s a picture of the results:

Postercollage.jpg

The best part is that they’re laminated too so they won’t get too scruffy. I love my lamination machine!

We’ve also been busy in the kitchen (which is a minor miracle in our house, given the fact that I HATE cooking.) We made some chocolate crispies and also some green alien cookies complete with candy eyeballs.

On the 14th July it was shark awareness day (who thinks up these things?!) and I had printed off some shark worksheets for the girls to do. We also made shark clothespegs which the girls enjoyed.

Since our main holiday this year is in October, we decided to go down and stay with Jamie’s parents for a week. That way it still feels like a bit of a holiday for Inara and Edai but without the hefty price tag. I did some research on the internet (dayoutwiththekids.co.uk is a fantastic resource) and planned some activities around the north east of England to keep us busy. It was Jamie’s birthday on our first day there and we went bowling at the MetroCentre in Newcastle. After that we had a trip into Primark where I bought some clothes to wear as I forgot my bag when packing the car – I couldn’t believe it when I realised! The good news is I did remember my pills and my hair straighteners, and after visiting Primark I was suitably re-stocked.

Monday saw us visiting Whitley Bay which has a nice, wide beach. The girls had fun digging holes and making sandcastles along with burying our feet in the sand. The temperature was in the low twenties which made it perfect paddling weather – even in the cold North Sea.

Whitley Bay collage

On Tuesday we went to a farm near Houghton-Le-Spring. There were animals and tractor rides plus a giant bouncing pillow which the girls were desperate to get on. We also got some ice cream!

Farm collage

Wednesday was another nice day and we decided to spend some time in Durham. We saw the cathedral which is gorgeous and although I’m not religious I like visiting churches because they always feel so calm and peaceful. Afterwards we went on the Prince Bishop River Cruise along the River Wear in the centre of Durham. The girls liked going on the boat!

Cruise collage

Thursday, we spent in Newcastle. We had a look around the Seven Stories museum which is dedicated to children’s books. There were loads of dressing up costumes for the kids and we got these photos:

seven stories collage

Friday saw us driving to York to see Jamie’s cousin, his girlfriend and their son. It was another beautiful day and it was a pleasure to catch up with family who we don’t get to see very often. We went to the park and whilst we were there the Red Arrows flew past in formation – although they were too quick for me to get a photo.

Before we headed home on Saturday we had time to visit Jamie’s gran in Alston. Again it was lovely to be able to spend some time with her as we don’t get to see her very much.

We’ve had a fantastic three weeks so far and we’re looking forward to the next three. :o)

3 thoughts on “Summer Holidays : Weeks 1, 2, & 3.

Leave a Reply

